Kanaka Druga

Vathapi Ganapathi

The image of Ganapathy - a human body with an elephant head is very familiar with the devotees. In mantras only five faced Ganapathy is talked about. He does the five works of creating, sustaining, destroying, causing to disappear and granting grace. The five elements of earth, fire, water, air and ether elements emanate from him. He is the form of OM.


Palanui Murugan

Murugan means beauty. He lives in Mountain and Mountainous region. That is why he is. Allled the mountain dweller. He has six faces. That is why he is known as six faced god. He is called Swaminathan as he served as a teacher once to his own father Load Siva and taught him the meaning of the mantra - OM - the essence of the Vedas. An other meaning of the word of swamy is 'owner'. He is called owner since he owns the entire universe. During the month of Karthigai, we worship him, why? because he embodies acknowledge as light in him self. With that light we drive away the darkness of ignorance. This is the traditional metaphor employed to remind us the glory of him.

Parvathi Devi
Parvathi or Visalakshi, the consort of Load Kahi Vishwanatha is known by many nmes:- Uma, Karayayani, Gauri, Kali, Haimavati, Isvari, Sivaa, Bhadrani, Rudrani,Sarvani, Chandika, Ambik, Arya, Daksayani, Girija, Menakatmaja, Chamundi, Karnamoti, Carcika, Bhairavi.
In Kasi there is a temple dedicated to Goddess Annapurani. The temple of Kasi Viswananath is just a few wards away.
Once, Shiva told his wife Parvathi that the world with ist food is an illusion of Maya. Parvati, a maniifestation of all material things including food, was offered bu this atatement and disappeared. This brought time to a standstill and the whole earth became barren. All sentient begins suffered from hunger. Seeing this suffering, Mother Parvati reapeared in Kasi and set up a kitchen to feed all her children.
Load Shiva realized the importance of the material world and that it cannot be dismissed as a mere illusion. He appeared before mother Parvati begging for arms. She fed him with her own hands. Since then the Mother has been addressed as Annapurani the goddess of food.

Kasi Lingam

God Shiva is consideredto be the Supreme being and the absolute realty. He is immanent and transcendent. In reality, Shiva is pure sonsciousness which is unmanifest, unchanging and transcendent. He is beyond time, formless and unbiounded by space. He is pure love and his light even flows through time, space, infinite intellighence and power.

Shiva is te manifestation of Brahma the creator, Vishnu the preserver, Rudra the destroyer, Maheswara the load who conceals and Sada Shiva the one who reveales. The Vedas which conceive of the universe as being composed of the three "Gunas" or attributes (Satva or Purity, Rajas or Actrivity and Tamas or Inertia) extol various aspects of Shiva as manifestations of the theree Gunas. The part of him that is Tamas is Rudra, the part of him that isRajas is Brah,ma and the part of him that is Satva is Vishnu.

He reveals the truth and bestows bountiful grace. As an absolute being and unmanifest reality Shiva is everything and te absence of nothing.



Dhatchana Moothy

Lord Dhatchana Moothy is a form of Load Shiva, often depicted sitting under a Peepal or Botree. He sits facing south silently teaching the "Rishis" at his feet. He is also known as Adi Guru and his teaching is in silence, beyond the range of the physical ear, havinbg the subtlest form of speech known as "Para VaK". He bestows all types of knowledge and Jnana. As a teacher he imparts knowledge of Yoga music and expoition of the shastras. He is worshipped as the God of wisdom through meditation.

Dhatchana Mooth means one who faces south which isw the direction of death (Yama Dharmaraja). In the temple, Dhatchana Moothy is installed facing south on the Southern circumambulatory path around the Sanctum Sanctorum.


Panchamucha Hanuman

Hanuman is a classical example for devotion. Because he is the son of Anjana Devi is better knows as Anjaneyan. It is said that it will be enough to constantly remember him, you will get all the eight good things in life. They are knowledge, strength, fame, courage, fearlessness, healthy life from all ailments briskness and eloquence. The image of five faced Hanuman is very very rarely to be seen. In his ten hands he carries the weapons of Sward, trident, noose, garland, water pot, and others. Those who worship him will have their desires fulfilled and relieved of their suffering.


Kaala Bhairavar

Sri Kala Bhairavar is a fierce manifestation of Load Shiva, in his aspect of annihilationb of evil. He typically is depicted carrying a sword, Dhamaru, Trisula and a human skull in his four hands. Clad in a tiger skin, he wears snakes as ornaments besides sandals and anklets. He also wears an apron made of human bones. His mount is a dog. His apperance resembles Mother Kalib and she is often accompanying him.

There are eight manifetations of Kaala Bhairavar Ashtanga, Ruru, Sasnda, Krodhana, Unmatta, Kapala, Bhishana and Samhara. Sri Kaala Bhairavar is the guru to Load Shani. The eight manifestations of Kala Bhairavar guard the eight special directions of the abode of Load Shiva.

Sri Kaala Bhairavar represents the march of time. He is the distroyer of the all destroying time becuse of which he is addressed as Maha kala. He helps everyone to make one's time useful. He is the guardian (kshetra Pala) of temples and protector of pilgrims and travellers. He is the also protector deity of those seeking liberation. On the orders of Load Shiva, Kaala Bhairavar protects all he Shakti Peetams of the universal mother.

In Shiva Maha Purana it was stated that when Load Bahma claimed superiority over Vishnu as the supreme creator of the universe, Load Shiva ordered Kaala Bhairavar to cut off one of the heads of Brahma. Kaala Bhairavar carried out the order of Shiva but then repented for his sin for 12 years carrying the cut head of Brahma till the sin was removed.



Navagraha or the Nine Planets has great importance in Hinduism
and Hindu rituals. Navagrahas are considered to play a major role in
deciding the destiny of man. The Navagrahas are Surya (Sun),
Chandra (Moon), Mangal (Mars), Budha (Mercury), Brihaspati
(Jupiter), Shukra (Venus), Shani (Saturn), Rahu (North Lunar Node)
and Ketu (South Lunar Node). It is believed that these nine
planetary deities influence human lives and is responsible for all
good or bad times, one faces in life.
Navagrahas – The Nine Planetary Deities in Hindu Astrology



Sri Aathi Parashakthi Hindu Temple
3021 Markham Road, Unit 45, 46 and 47
Scarborough, ON M1X 1L8
Tel: 416 293 1226

Fax: 416 293 1215
Copyright © 2013 - 2018 Sri Aathi Parashakthi Hindu Temple Powered by